Morning Pages: Open Door Policy

When I become a teacher I will definitely institute an open door policy. I believe that students and other teachers should feel free to talk to me any time, about anything I do. I have had teachers through the years that are so set in their ways that they are not open for discussion surrounding their methods and teaching techniques. I think, though, that criticism from students and colleagues is some the most helpful insight you can get into your performance as a teacher.

Being a new teacher, it will be difficult at first to feel that I can open my door, since I hardly know what I am doing and will likely receive a lot of criticism that could have detrimental effects on my confidence. I think it is very necessary, though, especially since I will be new and not know how exactly to facilitate learning correctly for each diverse group of students.

Leave a Reply

